Press releases

MADISONVILLE, La. – Sen. John Kennedy (R-La.) joined Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and 42 other colleagues in introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) joint resolution of disapproval to block the Biden administration’s Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) from enforcing its plan to regulate emissions from power plants that run on coal and natural gas.

On April 25, the Biden administration’s EPA finalized its Clean Power Plan 2.0 rules, which would require existing coal-fired and new gas-fired plants to install carbon capture equipment. The Biden administration proposed its rules with the unrealistic goal of reducing coal-fired and gas-fired plant emissions by 90% by 2032.

 “The Biden administration’s Clean Power Plan 2.0 is yet another attempt to force a radical climate agenda on Louisianians and Americans. The plan is not only an overreach by the EPA, but it also will drive up costs at a time when inflation is sky-high. Congress should block it immediately,” said Kennedy.

In 2022, the Supreme Court determined in West Virginia v. EPA that the EPA lacked authority to regulate emissions through the Obama administration’s Clean Power Plan. 

“With this Congressional Review Act resolution of disapproval, every member of Congress will have the opportunity to protect America’s energy future, heed the warnings of our nation’s electric grid operators, and adhere to the precedent set by the Supreme Court. This vote is an important one because the Biden administration’s Clean Power Plan 2.0 makes it clear it will stand with climate activists, regardless of the harm that is sure to be done to families, workers, and communities across West Virginia and the rest of the country. I appreciate so many of my Senate and House colleagues for joining this bipartisan effort to reject another unrealistic, overreaching regulation, and I look forward to the vote,” said Capito. 

Sens. Joe Manchin (I-W.Va.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-N.C), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Todd Young (R-Ind.) also cosponsored the resolution.

Rep. Troy Balderson (R-Ohio) introduced the resolution in the House of Representatives.

The full resolution is available here