Press releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. John Kennedy (R-La.) honored Louisiana and national law enforcement officers this week to mark the beginning of National Police Week. 

“Law enforcement officers deserve our nation's respect and admiration,” said Sen. Kennedy. “To honor the start of National Police Week, I signed on to the National Police Week Senate Resolution, Thin Blue Line Act, and American Law Enforcement Heroes Act.  These pieces of legislation honor the sacrifices and hard work that our police make every day to keep our families safe.”

Sen. Kennedy spoke on the floor of the U.S. Senate earlier this year to honor fallen Louisiana police officers

Sen. Kennedy signed on to legislation to honor law enforcement officers and veterans. He is a cosponsor of:

  • National Police Week 2017 Senate Resolution: This resolution designates the week of May 15-21 as National Police Week and recognizes those who gave their lives in the line of duty last year.
  • Thin Blue Line Act: This bill makes the murder of a state or local law enforcement, prosecutor, or firefighter an aggravating factor
  • American Law Enforcement Heroes Act: The bill gives preference for grants to law enforcement that prioritize the hiring and training of veterans. 

“Please join me in saying a prayer for the families of Louisiana law enforcement officers who lost their lives in the line of duty this past year.  They were men and women who sacrificed their lives so we could sleep a little bit better at night.  We must pray for an end to the violence.  We have buried enough of our brave law enforcement officers,” said Sen. Kennedy.  “Let us also pray for a safe and speedy recovery for East Baton Rouge Deputy Nick Tullier who was severely injured last July when he was shot in the head and abdomen after receiving a call to take down an active shooter who was targeting police.”

Below are members of Louisiana law enforcement who gave their lives in the line of duty in 2016:

  • Shannon Brown
  • David Elahi
  • Bradford Garafola, Sr.
  • Matthew Gerald
  • Natasha Hunter
  • Montrell Jackson
  • Jude Lewis
  • David Michel, Jr.
  • Derrick Mingo