NEW23700 7JN S.L.C.

118TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES.

Congratulating the Louisiana State University baseball team for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I College World Series.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Mr. Cassidy (for himself and Mr. Kennedy) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on _____

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Louisiana State University baseball team for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I College World Series.
- Whereas, on Monday, June 26, 2023, the Louisiana State University (referred to in this preamble as "LSU") Fighting Tigers baseball team won the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association (referred to in this preamble as the "NCAA") Division I College World Series, defeating the University of Florida Gators by a score of 18 to 4;
- Whereas the LSU Fighting Tigers won their seventh NCAA Division I Baseball Championship;
- Whereas the LSU Fighting Tigers scored 18 runs with 24 total hits in the championship game;

NEW23700 7JN S.L.C.

- Whereas head coach Jay Johnson became the first coach to win an NCAA Division I baseball title before their third year at a school;
- Whereas the LSU Fighting Tigers finished the season with 54 wins and 17 losses;
- Whereas 13 LSU Fighting Tigers players were selected in the Major League Baseball draft, the third highest number in NCAA history;
- Whereas teammates Paul Skenes and Dylan Crews were the first and second overall Major League Baseball draft selections, marking the first time in the history of Major League Baseball that players from the same school were drafted first and second;
- Whereas LSU pitcher Paul Skenes broke a Southeastern Conference (referred to in this preamble as the "SEC") record for most strikeouts in a single season, surpassing the record set by LSU Fighting Tiger Ben McDonald in 1989;
- Whereas Paul Skenes was named the Most Outstanding Player of the College World Series, was named the 2023 SEC Pitcher of the Year, and was awarded the 2023 Dick Howser Trophy, becoming the second LSU baseball player to win the award;
- Whereas Dylan Crews was named to the 2023 American Baseball Coaches Association Gold Glove team, was named the SEC Player of the Year, and was the 45th recipient of the Golden Spikes Award, the highest honor for an amateur baseball player;
- Whereas LSU pitcher Ty Floyd set an LSU record for the most strikeouts in a game at the College World Series

NEW23700 7JN S.L.C.

and tied the NCAA record for the most strikeouts in a 9-inning game; and

Whereas Coach Jay Johnson was named the 2023 NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association: Now, therefore, be it

	Daseban Coaches Association: Now, therefore, be it
1	Resolved, That the Senate—
2	(1) congratulates the Louisiana State Univer-
3	sity Fighting Tigers for winning the 2023 National
4	Collegiate Athletic Association Division I College
5	World Series;
6	(2) recognizes the achievements, teamwork, and
7	tenacity of the coaches, players, and staff of the
8	Louisiana State University baseball team;
9	(3) recognizes the fans and the entire State of
10	Louisiana for their dedication and support; and
11	(4) respectfully requests that the Secretary of
12	the Senate transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
13	tion to—
14	(A) the head coach of the Louisiana State
15	University baseball team, Jay Johnson;
16	(B) the president of Louisiana State Uni-
17	versity, William F. Tate IV; and
18	(C) the athletic director of Louisiana State
19	University, Scott Woodward.