Press releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. John Kennedy (R-La.) today criticized Senate Democrats for blocking his resolution that honors the daily, life-saving contributions of U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE).  Senate Democrats prevented the passage of Sen. Kennedy’s resolution and instead pushed a bill by U.S. Sen. Kamala Harris (D-Calif.) that would weaken border security. 

Sen. Kennedy introduced his resolution in response to Democrats’ recent calls for the abolishment of ICE.  The movement to abolish ICE has been led by Sen. Harris and several of her fellow Democratic Senators.

S.Res.572 simply states that Sen. Kennedy and other Republicans “support the officers and personnel who carry out the important mission of U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.”  Democrats, in a willful disregard of the work ICE does in protecting American families from cartel violence, human traffickers and drug addiction, blocked the resolution from receiving Senate passage.

“Although much of their work is thankless and goes sight unseen, I am grateful to the thousands of ICE agents who work around the clock to keep our streets and our families safe,” said Sen. Kennedy.  “ICE last year intercepted a million pounds of narcotics, removed nearly 5,000 violent gang members from the streets and rescued 1,422 human trafficking victims.  ICE agents deserve our thanks.  Instead, they are being exploited by Democrats for political gain.  The losers are American families.”

The U.S. House of Representatives voted today 244-35 in favor of Congressman Clay Higgins’ (R-La.) resolution supporting ICE.  Congressman Higgins’ bill is a companion version of Sen. Kennedy’s Senate bill.

Thirty-six Republicans have now joined Sen. Kennedy’s resolution as cosponsors, including Sens. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Dean Heller (R-Nev.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), John Boozman (R-Ark.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Dan Sullivan (R-Ark.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), John Thune (S.D.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Pat Roberts (Kan.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho) and Todd Young (R-Ind.).  

Vice President Mike Pence tweeted his support of the resolutions today.